Brave

23 Jun

Brave is Disney’s latest animation out of the studio’s of Pixar.  A truly beautiful movie, Pixar is flexing it’s animation skills.  Brave is a story about a girl’s rocky relationship with a her mother.   It tells the story from the beginning of a Scottish nation, and it does it well.

There is no doubt in my mind, Pixar is the best in the business.  They have some of the best animation possible.  The opening act in particular was them just showing off.  Merida climbs a  rock formation and drinks for a fountain, it really looked like a real life fountain.  I was very impressed.

Brave isn’t in the same class as “Wall-E”, “Toy Story 3”, or “Up”, but it’s still a good film.  I have to agree with the J-man and say that the story was a little too predicable.  I don’t want to give the film away but you will know how the plot ends by the half way point into the movie.  I found the second act even a little tedious.  I knew exactly what was going to happen and I wish I didn’t.

I felt the ‘heart felt’ moments that they sprinkled in the movie where pushed.  They didn’t seem as genuine and they could have been.  There was a scene where the four tribes were gathered in the great hall, and Merida gives a speech on how the tribes got together in the first place.

Don’t get me wrong, I liked the movie.  It’s filled with adventure and a story great for children.  But I was a little let down from other Pixar movies I’ve seen.

I put this movie on the same spectrum as Mulan.  Brave reminded me a lot of it.  A good film, but I’ve seen better.  80%.

This is Nathan Atteberry

2 Responses to “Brave”

  1. Daniel Brinks June 27, 2012 at 2:46 am #

    Better or worse than Mulan? Mulan was really a pretty good movie.

    • attebiz October 7, 2013 at 1:00 am #

      Mulan was a much better movie. Catchy tunes too.

Leave a Reply

