The Muppets

11 Dec

At long last, another Muppets movie graced the silver screen.  Coming to the rescue of a creative property that has been struggling for relevance since the passing of its creator is, oddly enough, Jason Segal, who stars in and co-wrote this revitalization of the Muppets.

So what did I think of this movie?  I loved it.  Then again, I did grow up with the Muppets, so the nostalgia factor was through the roof for me.  And in many ways, I think that anybody’s enjoyment of this move will be directly tied to their history with the Muppets.

For instance, if you really liked the Muppets, you will love this movie.

If you were indifferent to the Muppets, but like musicals, you will find this movie enjoyable.

If you are pretty much anybody else, wait for it on Netflix, if at all.

The humor of this film is very much in line with what the Muppets have always been, while still feeling fresh and new in a few different ways.  The cameos were all perfect, including one extremely unexpected cameo during the best musical number in the movie.  The dialogue is sharp and witty, and I found myself laughing throughout.  The story was extremely relevant, and the humor works on several levels.  The musical numbers were a joy as well.

If I had to find a flaw, the fourth wall jokes started to wear a bit thin by the third act, but luckily the movie wasn’t trying to rely too heavily on them.

But even that wasn’t too bad.

Ultimately, I loved this movie to death, and I highly recommend it.

94 out of 100.

For Attebiz Movie Reviews, I’m the J-Man.

Leave a Reply

