Horrible Bosses

5 Dec

I recently got a chance to watch Horrible Bosses with a friend.  A comdedy that came out a few months ago.  I never had a chance to see the movie in theaters so I wanted to give this movie a chance.  This comedy stars Arrested Development‘s  icon Jason Bateman, Sunny in Philadelphia’s Charlie Day, and SNL‘s Jason Sudeikis.  We also have some addons like Kevin Spacey and and the lovely Jennifer Aniston.

I certainly laughed during this film, I wouldn’t recommend not watching it, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to do so.  Watch it on a movie night with your family, it will be worth the laugh.

I take that back, this movie is not a family movie, watch it on a date night with your wife/girlfriend/boyfriend/person friend.  All the single guys will appreciate Jennifer Aniston wearing only a lab coat and panties.  I’m not sure what is worse, the innuendo or the fact that the movie is based on justified murder.

I really love Charlie Day, the role he plays in this movie isn’t that much different than who we plays in It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia.  The characters worked really well together, I would like to see them together again in the future.  I think that combination is key to a movie’s chances in being big.  Especially in a comedy like this one.  Why did The Hangover do so well?  The entire picture, the actors worked together so well.  The Biggest Year, Hall Pass, are awful movies.  The combo wasn’t good at all.

A good combination is key, but the connecting story is also important.  This story was somewhat creative but it wasn’t executed that well.  I thought it was a little short, and some of the key story points could have been extended.  As you might have guessed from the trailer the three main leads feel it necessary to kill their bosses.  I thought they could have extended the idea of why they needed to kill their bosses.  They seemed to gloss over it a little too quick.  The movie had so many different chances to be a good film and it let me down.

I give this movie a 75 out of 100.  Worth a rent, Netflix it in a few months.

This is Nathan for Attebiz Movie Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

