Harry Potter Question

29 Jul

At long last, the Harry Potter Money Printing Machine has reached its completion. With Part Seven Part Two well on its way to making multiple billions, many feel as though it’s the end of an era.

For those of you who don’t know me, I never really cared for Harry Potter. I read the first two books, saw the first two movies, didn’t like them, and moved on with my life. I’ve ended up since then being forced to watch a few of the movies here and there. And I still didn’t really care for them.

I have some issues with movies I have seen, but I’m not going to get into them, because this post isn’t about being a contrarian, it’s about asking one simple question.

Spoiler alert. Statistically speaking, odds are that anybody reading this has already seen the movie twice, but I still feel like throwing that in there.

In the end, Harry is able to defeat Lord Voldemort, but only because somebody named Neville Longbottom got the jump on a snake and happened to be carrying around the Sword of Gryffindor. The day is saved and good triumphs over evil, but only after a lot of Hogwarts is destroyed and something like half of the people with speaking parts have died, up to and including the freaking Headmaster, Dumbledore. We then get a happy little epilogue where 19 years later, Harry is all grown up and sending his children off to Hogwarts.

Time out.

Why on earth would you send your kids to Hogwarts after the number of people who died when you went there? I mean, granted it all worked out for Harry, but you might remember that Voldemort wasn’t the only person trying to kill him, there were a lot of people he had on his side. Evil doesn’t go away just because you kill public enemy number one. Also, spending your formative years having the lord of all evil trying to kill you (and freaking succeeding at one point) doesn’t sound like a positive experience to me. I don’t know about you, but I’d keep my kids as far away from Hogwarts as possible after that.

That’s all I have to say about that.

Leave a Reply

