Bridesmaids Failure

16 May

Bridesmaids is the latest film by Paul Feig that tells the story of a maid of honor who doesn’t have her life in order and has to deal with all the pains of seeing her friends be accomplished while she is failing at everything.

We have a few good names in the bunch, Kristen Wiig plays the main role of the maid of honor, Maya Rudolph as the bride to be, Ellie Kemper as a bridesmaid, and Rose Byrne.

There were some moments in the movie that made me laugh.  Even laugh loudly out loud.  But overall I was bored with the movie.   This is one of the first times that I clearly do not agree with Rotten Tomatoes or IMDB.  I was surfing the net with my phone during the movie most the time.  I even thought about leaving.  Everyone around me liked the movie so maybe I was in a funk.

The movie seemed to think it was better than it actually was.  Like it was some fantastic movie showing the depravity of life.  This movie wasn’t like that at all.  I was not happy with the conclusion and I enjoyed when I finally saw the credits.  “Oh man you did all these crappy things to me but I’m ok now. Lets just forget about all of it and end the movie.”

Other than the horrible story line, the cast did a decent job.  Kriten Wiig could have been a little more her lovable self like she is on SNL.  I think the audience was expecting more of her craziness.  She was half normal in most of this movie.  The girl from Gilmore Girls, Melissa McCarthy scared the crap out of me.

It certainly had a sense of being like some of the more recent movies out there.  Knocked Up, Walked Hard, etc.  Certainly most of that feel comes from the director.  I don’t want to sound up tight but I am sick of movies like this.  I think that an adult audience can handle something different than women defficating into a sink and having us see it.  Humor doesn’t always come from disgusting things like this.  Don’t get me wrong, I laughed, but I think there is a line and we passed it five years ago.

To sum up my feelings.  47% on a good day.

This is Nathan Atteberry for Attebiz Movie Reviews.

Leave a Reply

