Black Swan

4 Jan

When I saw the trailer for the Black Swan earlier this year, it immediately got my attention.  The subject matter looked compelling, the music was right up my alley, it promised to blow my mind, and Natalie Portman is one of my favorite actresses out there now.  What’s not to love?

 

In Black Swan, Portman plays Nina, a ballet dancer who wins the lead role in a production of Swan Lake, after working in the chorus for years.  She starts losing her mind over the course of the months it takes to rehearse.  Shenanigans ensue.

 

The good:

 

The choreography was top notch.  The dancing scenes were done masterfully, with the cameraman swooping in and out of the dancers, making the viewer feel as though they were a dancer on the stage.  The attention to detail and how ballet is done were very thoroughly thought out, and it shows.

 

The acting by (almost) everybody varied between solid and excellent.  Natalie Portman really shines here.  She stole the show.  Even Mila Kunis was good here.  Between this movie and Book of Eli, I think she’s doing an excellent job of moving away from being “that girl from That 70s Show”.

 

The best indicator for me that this movie achieved what it set out to do was that I started to question whether or not I was going crazy myself.  Only one other movie I’ve ever seen did that, so I really have to compliment the movie on that.

 

The bad:

 

The actress who plays Nina’s mother was pretty weak.  A lot of the dialogue was really mediocre too.

 

Probably my number one complaint with Black Swan was how serious it took itself.  Now, I’m not saying they needed comic relief, but everything about the movie was overdramatized heavily.  It was done so overly dramatic that some of the people in the theater actually laughed at parts that were supposed to be serious.

 

Overall, I liked Black Swan a lot.  I had some nitpicks that keep it from being one of my favorites of the year, but it is definitely worth checking out.  As such, I give it 78 out of 100.  For Attebiz Movie Reviews, I’m the J-Man.

Leave a Reply

