Unstoppable, Megamind, Next Three Days, Faster, and Skyline

9 Dec

Unstoppable

This is a good action movie.  The setup is simple, the action intense, the acting solid, the direction competent, and the events are surprisingly accurate to what actually happened.  I went in prepared to be critical of it because I got so sick of seeing trailers for it in front of EVERY SINGLE MOVIE this summer.  But about 25 minutes in, I noticed that I was getting wrapped up in the movie, and legitimately cared what happened to the characters.

Score: 81 out of 100

Megamind

An interesting take on the standard superhero story, this tells it from the perspective of the villain.  I’m not going to say too much about the plot, because I didn’t know a whole lot going in, and that really made the viewing experience better for me.  I’ll just say this much: the writing is sharp, the characters interesting, the movie uses 3D the way it should (giving the picture depth instead of just throwing stuff at the camera).  I will say that the main bad guy in the movie isn’t a particularly interesting character, but nobody’s perfect.

Score: 71 out of 100

Next Three Days

Russell Crowe tries to bust his wife out of prison after she is wrongfully (maybe) arrested and imprisoned.  It also starred Elizabeth Banks and directed by Paul Haggis (the guy known for such morally repugnant Oscar-bait as Crash and Million Dollar Baby).  By and large, I didn’t like this movie.  It was well made and well acted, but I’ve seen everybody inv

Liam Neeson at the TIFF premiere of The Other ...
Image via Wikipedia

olved do so much better.  Plus there’s a couple pretty big plot holes.  I’d say that Liam Neeson‘s role was a highlight, but pretty much everything he says and does was in the trailer.

Score: 52 out of 100

Faster

Another great action flick, this one starring the Actor Formerly Known As The Rock, Dwayne Johnson.  Another movie that I didn’t know a ton about going in, but that once again helped out my enjoyment of the film (I’m seriously sick of trailers that show everything.  It’s like a girl who flirts with you by taking off her shirt immediately.  Ever heard of anticipation?  Seriously.  But I digress.)  Faster is a great example of K.I.S.S.  Keep It Simple Stupid.  This movie has a relatively simple and straightforward delivery, which I think really suited it.  A lot of fun to watch.

Score: 79 out of 100

Skyline

Ever wonder what War Of The Worlds would look like if told from the perspective of the two extras who get attacked on a rooftop an hour and a half into the movie?  Yeah, neither did I.  Solid special effects and a really bad ass action scene don’t compensate for the stiff acting, weak script and unlikable characters.

Score: 35 out of 100

For Attebiz Movie Reviews, I’m the J-Man.

One Response to “Unstoppable, Megamind, Next Three Days, Faster, and Skyline”

  1. moviegeek December 19, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    I was quite surprised by how much I liked “The next Three Days”
    A solid Thriller, with some great performances.
    Here’s my review
    http://wp.me/p19wJ2-8n

Leave a Reply

