Movies You’ve Never Heard of That You Really Should Watch

30 Aug

On the 8th day, God in His benevolent wisdom and foresight, created Netflix. Without netflix, I would probably have gone crazy in the two years that I’ve been out on my own. Or just developed other hobbies. Or read more. Or just became more well-rounded. I digress. Netflix enabled me to check out more movies than I ever thought I’d have access to. My curiosity has bitten me more than a few times, but I have found a number of obscure movies that have been a very positive experiences. Todays DVD Sound Bite is about 4 movies you have never heard of, but really should watch.

Delicatessan

The gist, (totally jacked from IMDb, as I couldn’t think of a better way to describe it):

“A post-apocalyptic surrealist black comedy about the landlord of an apartment building who occasional prepares a delicacy for his odd tenants.” My take: This is a weird movie. The style in which is it shot is very different from what you might be used to seeing. There is some social commentary that takes some thinking to pick apart, but I ultimately appreciated that about the movie. It doesn’t really explain things to you, it just lets you figure it out. Realize that this movie is not for everybody, but any film buff could undoubtedly find something that they like about it. Score: 73 out of 100

Ink

The gist:

Demons and angels battle for the soul of a young girl. There’s more to it than that, but that’s all you really need to know before watching the movie. My take: This movie has its faults.¬† But not all of them can really be held against it, because it was an independant movie produced on a very low budget. The acting is ok at best and the ending is kinda gimmicky, but I really really liked this movie. The way that it presents and handles the spiritual realm is really quite interesting. It also presents some very Christian themes (in addition to a few F-bombs, so be forewarned). I highly recommend this movie for any Christian who doesn’t mind a few profanities. Score: 70 out of 100

The Tenant

The gist:

Roman Polanski wrote, directed and starred in this movie about a man who moves into an apartment. The previous tenant committed suicide by jumping out the window. He finds himself haunted by her on a psychological level. My take: This was probably one of the scariest movies I’ve ever seen, because I literally thought I was going insane when I watched it. There weren’t any jumps, any zombies, any murderers lumbering about with a chainsaw. Just a man slowing going crazy. And taking my sanity with him. It’s really quite brilliant. Score: 80 out of 100

Rope

The gist:

Two roommates kill a friend and hide him in a cabinet and then proceed to host a party in the very living room where they have him hidden. My take: This is probably one of Alfred Hitchcock‘s most underrated works. Even people I talk to who like his work seem to not have any knowledge of this movie. It is does in a series of long takes, which makes the viewer feel like they are sitting in the room, and not just watching a story on the screen. This especially helps in the building of tension, which builds to an unbearable level by the time the film wraps up. The characters, the dialogue, the acting is all top notch. And to the average viewer, this is probably the most watchable movie on this list. Check it out. Score: 85 out of 100 For Attebiz Movie Reviews, I’m the J-man.

