Toy Story 3

24 Jun

The trilogy is complete.

Pending another idea.

Toy Story 3 hit theaters last Friday, marking Pixars contribution to cinema for the year and the instant favorite for Best Animated Picture.

So does their latest offering measure up to the sterling standard that they have so brilliantly created for themselves?

Yes and meh.

I am going to get a lot of crap for this, I know, but bear with me.

Is it a very good movie?  Yes.  Are the characters well developed?  Of course.  Is it a kids movie that adults as well can enjoy?  Absolutely. Is it emotionally gripping?  Insert affirmative statement here.

But ultimately, I just did not enjoy it as much as I was hoping.  Maybe it was because I went in with sky-high expectations after Up turned me into a blubbering mess last year.

It is a well-made film with a number of gripping moments and some
compelling themes.  The filmmaking is very competent and you can
definitely tell that the minds behind this film are extremely talented.

But besides a sly Monty Python reference, an overused joke about Buzz
accidentally being set to Antonio Banderas On Crack mode and an emotionally satisfying ending, I didn’t find myself particularly engaged by the film.

Don’t get me wrong, Toy Story 3 an excellent film.  I think I just wanted too much out of it.

Watch it.  It’s worth your time.

For how good it is, I give Toy Story 3 a 93 out of 100.

For Attebiz Movie Reviews, I’m the J-Man.

Leave a Reply

