The Pelican Brief

24 May

I recently had the chance to watch the Pelican Brief. The film is a little old, 1993, making it 17 years old, but still a good movie. The movie stars Julia Roberts and Denzel Washington and is based on a John Grisham novel. The movie covers a conspiracy in the white house as it pertains to oil money. I don’t want to go too far into the plot, since it’s worth spending some time watching it.

Acting –

The film has some big names in it, and they all do a decent job in the movie.  Denzel does a superb job as usual.  His acting is solid, and he does the job without any obvious errors.  It was decent, and I enjoyed him in this movie.  Have you ever noticed that all of the roles he portrays seem to be the same character.  Perhaps he isn’t a good actor, just has a good manager.

Julia Roberts portrays the intelligent 24 year old that figures out the conspiracy.  I think she’s gorgeous, but I never liked her as an actor.  But that’s just me I suppose since everyone else seems to like her.  For the role she was required to portray, she played it well.

Storyline/Plot –

Like I said before, even though the movie is quite old, it’s worth going out to rent.  So I don’t want to tell you guys too much.  The story is really good.  If you ever have a chance, go out and get the book, it’s a very John Grisham like story, and I love his work.  It’s very suspenseful, always a good choice for a movie.  Go to your local library and get the book, it’s worth it.

I would give this movie a 90 out of a 100.  It’s worth a DVD purchase.

Leave a Reply

