Made of Honor

5 Jan

Made of Honor is a romantic comedy staring Patrick Dempsey and Michelle Monaghan.  The premise is pretty basic.  Tom (played by Patrick) falls in love with his best friend Hannah (Michelle) and tries to win her as she is now engaged to a ‘perfect’ man.  To top things off, he is asked to be the Maid of Honor by Hannah.

The movie is mildly funny.  I’ll admit that a few times I burst out laughing.  I suppose it’s a good thing that I was alone at home watching this movie for the pure fact that it’s a chick flick and me laughing out loud so loudly.  It was small things that made me laugh and I enjoyed that.  It wasn’t as funny as ‘The Hangover’, but I enjoyed it none the less.  The aim wasn’t to make me laugh every second so I’ll leave off on that.

Hannah’s boy toy was a perfect man which sort of eerked me.  He was a duke in Scotland, women seem to love Scottish men.  He was rich, could sing, could dunk a basketball, played the bagpipes amazingly, a die hard romantic.  They were trying to show that he was the perfect man, so for the first time McDreamy had his work cut out for him.  I thought the Duke role was a little over the top and took away from the reality of the film for me. Maybe I’m just picky about these things, but I thought it could have been better.

The romance was realistic for me.  Tom honestly looked like he was in love with the girl.  The romance dialogue wasn’t bad either.  Falling for your best friend sucks.  Moving on now…

The movie was cute, enjoyable, and somewhat nice to watch.  I won’t talk more on the topic because the movie is two years old now.  Worth a rent, but only with your girlfriend.  I would give it a 70%.

Thanks for listening,
Nathan Atteberry

Leave a Reply

